The Full Shadow Cabinet is now in place.
It has 52% women – a majority female shadow cabinet which improves even on the 47% women in Harriet Harman’s last Shadow Cabinet. We’ll pass over in silence the current cabinet, and its Tory/LibDem predecessor.
There are lots of excellent appointments – including some local, and locally known, faces.

Among the second tranche now announced is the Rotherham MP Sarah Champion, with a brief to cover abuse at the Home Office. She joins her neighbour, Wentworth and Dearne’s John Healey, who has responsibility for Housing. Great to see new Leeds face Richard Burgon on the Treasury team, alongside Leeds MP Hilary Benn at the Foreign Office – and, of course, Jon Trickett, who was a councillor here in Leeds, and led the City Council.

Barnsley’s Michael Dugher is sure to make his mark at Culture, Media and Sport. Hull’s Karl Turner is staying on as Shadow Solicitor General; his fellow Hull MP, Diana Johnson, is in the Foreign Office, Sheffield’s Louise Haigh in the Cabinet Office, York’s Rachel Maskell at Defence. Doncaster’s Rosie Winterton will keep them all in order as Chief Whip – with the help of Bradford’s Judith Cummins and Halifax’s Holly Lynch.

People here in Leeds NW may have met Chi Onwurah, Kate Green, Seema Malhotra, Lucy Powell – all of whom campaigned with us here in Leeds NW – as did Debbie Abrahams, who was one of the first MPs to give us a helping hand here in the last election. At Work and Pensions as Minister for the Disabled she’ll no doubt continue to give IDS a hard time. And, of course, Tom Watson, Ian Lavery, Bill Estterson, all came to help us – have we missed anyone. . . .

Then there are our Humberside neighbours Scunthorpe’s Nic Dakin at Education and Grimsby’s Melanie Onn seconding in the Leader of the Commons’ office.

There are just too many good appointments here – there’s no space to comment on them all.

We’ll try to bring you more details of individual members of the team over the coming months.

In the meantime – here’s the list to get your teeth into

Leader of the Opposition
Jeremy Corbyn MP

Business, Innovation & Skills
Angela Eagle MP
Kevin Brennan MP
Stephen Doughty MP
Yvonne Fovargue MP
Chi Onwurah MP [Joint with DCMS]
Bill Esterson MP
Gordon Marsden MP [Joint with Education]
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Lord (Jon) Mendelsohn
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Cabinet Office
Tom Watson MP
Gloria De Piero MP
Jon Ashworth MP
Ian Lavery MP
Wayne David MP [Joint with Scotland, Justice]
Anna Turley MP
Louise Haigh MP
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Communities and Local Government
Jon Trickett MP
Steve Reed MP
Liz McInnes MP
Lord (Roy) Kennedy
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

John Healey MP (Housing)
Roberta Blackman-Woods MP
Teresa Pearce MP
Lord (Roy) Kennedy
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

Culture, Media & Sport
Michael Dugher MP
Chi Onwurah MP [Joint with BIS]
Clive Efford MP
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson

Maria Eagle MP
Kevan Jones MP
Toby Perkins MP
Rachel Maskell MP
Rt Hon Lord (Don) Touhig

Lucy Powell MP
Nic Dakin MP
Sharon Hodgson MP
Gordon Marsden MP [Joint with BIS]
Pat Glass MP
Lord (Mike) Watson

Energy and Climate Change
Lisa Nandy MP
Barry Gardiner MP
Alan Whitehead MP
Clive Lewis MP
Baroness (Bryony) Worthington
Lord (John) Grantchester

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Kerry McCarthy MP
Alex Cunningham MP
Nick Smith MP
Baroness (Maggie) Jones
Lord (John) Grantchester

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
Rt Hon Pat McFadden MP
Rt Hon David Hanson MP
Diana Johnson MP
Catherine West MP
Lord (Ray) Collins
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan

Heidi Alexander MP
Luciana Berger MP
Andrew Gwynne MP
Barbara Keeley MP
Justin Madders MP
Rt Hon Lord (Philip) Hunt

Home Office
Rt Hon Andy Burnham MP
Jack Dromey MP
Lyn Brown MP
Keir Starmer MP
Sarah Champion MP
Lord (Richard) Rosser
Lord (Roy) Kennedy

International Development
Diane Abbott MP
Mike Kane MP
Lord (Ray) Collins

Rt Hon Lord (Charlie) Falconer QC
Andy Slaughter MP
Jenny Chapman MP
Wayne David MP [Joint with Scotland, Cab Office]
Lord (Willy) Bach
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

Law Officers
Catherine McKinnell MP
Karl Turner MP
Lord (Neil) Davidson QC ­­­­­­­[Adv. Gen. Scotland]

Leader of the House of Commons
Chris Bryant MP
Melanie Onn MP

Leader of the House of Lords
Rt Hon Baroness (Angela) Smith
Rt Hon Lord (Philip) Hunt [Deputy Leader]

Northern Ireland
Vernon Coaker MP
Stephen Pound MP
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

Ian Murray MP
Wayne David MP [Joint with Justice and Cabinet Office]
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

Lilian Greenwood MP
Jonathan Reynolds MP
Richard Burden MP
Daniel Zeichner MP
Lord (Richard) Rosser

John McDonnell MP
Seema Malhotra MP
Rob Marris MP
Rebecca Long Bailey MP
Richard Burgon MP
Rt Hon Lord (Bryan) Davies
Lord (Denis) Tunnicliffe
Lord (Neil) Davidson

Nia Griffith MP
Susan Elan Jones MP
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan

Women & Equalities Office
Kate Green MP
Cat Smith MP
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Work & Pensions
Owen Smith MP
Emily Thornberry MP
Debbie Abrahams MP
Nick Thomas Symonds MP
Baroness (Maeve) Sherlock
Lord (Bill) McKenzie

Whips Office
House of Commons
Chief Whip
Opposition Chief Whip
Rt Hon Rosie Winterton MP
Alan Campbell MP (Deputy Chief Whip)
Mark Tami MP (Pairing Whip)
Jessica Morden MP
Judith Cummins MP
Vicky Foxcroft MP
Sue Hayman MP
Holly Lynch MP
Conor McGinn MP
Grahame Morris MP
Angela Rayner MP
Jeff Smith MP

House of Lords
Chief Whip
Rt Hon Lord (Steve) Bassam
Deputy Chief Whips
Lord (Denis) Tunnicliffe
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy
Senior Whips
Baroness (Margaret) Wheeler
Baroness (Maeve) Sherlock
Lord (Ray) Collins
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Rt Hon Lord (Don) Touhig
Lord (Roy) Kennedy


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s