They say voting doesn’t make a difference.

Well, here’s one difference voting Labour on May 7 would make.
A Labour Government elected on May 7 would have over twice as many women as the current government.
We’ve listed below current members of Labour’s Shadow Team
– 42 women in all.
On our reckoning, there won’t be a single department without women on the team – except the Northern Ireland Office.
A Labour Government on May 8 really would be – and look – different.

[All figures taken from lists on Hansard website

These are the women who would likely take office on May 8.


Harriet Harman – Deputy Prime Minister [+ Culture, Media and Sport]
Yvette Cooper – Home Secretary
Rosie Winterton – Chief Whip
Rachel Reeves – Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
Caroline Flint – Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change
Angela Eagle – Leader of the House of Commons
Mary Creagh – Secretary of State for International Development
Margaret Curran – Secretary of State for Scotland
Maria Eagle – Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affair
Gloria De Peiro – Minister for Women and Equalities
Lucy Powell – Minister for Cabinet Office
Jan Royall – Leader in House of Lords

+ Two who attend the Shadow Cabinet
Liz Kendall – Minister for Care and Older People
Emma Reynolds – Minister for Housing

[14 women]

[Current Cabinet has six women – and another two who attend]

Other minsters who won’t sit in Cabinet, but will have ministerial position

Shabana Mahmood, Catherine McKinnell and Cathy Jamieson at the Treasury
Stella Creasy at Business, Innovation and Skills
Luciana Berger at Health
Alison Seabeck and Gemma Doyle at Defence
Yvonne Fovargue and Alison McGovern at Education
Lilian Greenwood at Transport
Jenny Chapman at Justice
Lynn Brown and Roberta Blackman-Woods at Communities and Local Government
Julie Elliott at Energy and Climate Change
Kerry McCarthy at Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
Sharon Hodgson at Equalities
Helen Jones and Diana Johnson at the Home Office
Nia Griffith at the Welsh Office
Helen Goodman and Kate Green at Work and Pensions
Lisa Nandy and Chi Onwurah in the Cabinet Office
Seema Malhotra, Bridget Phillipson, Heidi Alexander, Julie Hilling, Susan Elan Jones in the Whips’ Office

[28 ]

We haven’t included women in the Lords – except for the Leader there, Jan Royall.
We haven’t included other members of the teams, either, like Andy Burnham’s Parliamentary Private Secretary Debbie Abrahams.

But you get the picture.

That’s a government with 42 women.
Current government – we calculate as 19, excluding as above members of the Lords except the Leader – and also excluding members of Her Majesty’s Household – Lords and Ladies in Waiting!

We have listed the Labour Women in Waiting.

They say Voting doesn’t make a difference – well here’s a difference you can make on May 7 – put these women in Government.

Help us do that by signing up here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s